Movie Review – Sex And The City

Sex and the City – (7 stars)

The continuing adventures of Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda as they live their lives in Manhattan four years after the series ended.

True to my word, I went and saw Sex and the City. Mock me, ridicule me, scoff at me if you must. I’m man enough to take it. I’m also man enough to enter the dark theater of the “Big Newport” that served as the den of over 700 cougars all hellbent on catching up Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte, and Miranda. To quote Obi Wan Kenobi, “You will never find a more retched hive of scum and villainy.” Alright, that might be a little harsh of a description regarding the crowd that attended last night’s 7:00 PM screening. But, it was definitely a unique crowd, one of which I had never experienced before. The vibe at the theater while waiting in the long line of attendees showing up at the last possible minute was not unlike that of Return of the Jedi that I saw at that very theater a quarter of a century ago — just the complete opposite spectrum of the demographic chart. These women wanted their Sex and the City.

The movie itself was alright and I enjoyed it for the most part. But, I’m pretty sure that just had to do with the fact that I had some familiarity with the characters having watched most of the six seasons worth of late night reruns. I’ve got my girlfriend to thank (or blame) for that. In fact, it was with her and three of her girlfriends that I went to see the movie with. Had I not felt some sort of connection and familiarity with the characters I’m sure I would’ve been bored out of my skull. It’s a long movie that might have worked better as five individual episodes. Or, maybe even as a seventh season since the movie spans at least nine month’s time, probably more. I think the movie would have benefited by further exploring certain aspects of the movie that seemed to just have been glossed over — but, I wouldn’t have wanted to sit through a three hour plus Louis Vuitton commercial. I doubt I would bother seeing a Sex and the City sequel if one were to be produced.

Breaking it down to the basics — If you like the TV show, you’ll like the movie. If you’ve never seen or don’t like the TV show, then go see Iron Man again.

Starring: Sarah Jessica Parker, Kim Cattrall, Cynthia Nixon, Kristin Davis, Christopher Noeth
Directed by: Michael Patrick King
Written by: Michael Patrick King, Candace Bushnell
Produced by: Sarah Jessica Parker, Michael Patrick King, John Melfi
Distributed by: New Line Cinema, Warner Bros.
MPAA Rating: R for strong sexual content, graphic nudity and language.

Official SiteIMDB SiteWikipedia Site

Tags:

Leave a Reply

