Comix Pix – Locke & Key

My current favorite comic book title that I look forward to month after month is IDW Publishing’s Locke & Key. Although I do hold a strong amount of allegiance toward IDW, my favorable opinion of Locke & Key would exist regardless.

According to the IDW websiteWritten by Joe Hill (Heart-Shaped Box) and featuring astounding artwork from Gabriel Rodriguez (Clive Barker’s The Great and Secret Show, Beowulf), Locke & Key tells of Keyhouse, an unlikely New England mansion, with fantastic doors that transform all who dare to walk through them…. and home to a hate-filled and relentless creature that will not rest until it forces open the most terrible door of them all…

The first issue of Locke & Key hit comic book shelves back in February, and the third issue hit last week — along with reprints of the sold-out first two issues. Although Joe Hill is a novelist (Heart-Shaped Box), this is his first foray into comic book writing (other than an issue of Spider-Man Unlimited I’ve learned about) and he seems to be pulling it off like a seasoned pro. Upon reading the first issue I was drawn in and hooked. Two more issues in and I’m still as engrossed as I was at the beginning, if not more so.

Another great element this comic book title has going for it is artist Gabriel Rodriguez — the one artist that I want to work with more than any other. I first fell in love with Gabriel’s artwork back when I worked at IDW and would see his pages for CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, George Romero’s Land of the Dead, Clive Barker’s The Great and Secret Show, and Beowulf come in. He set the bar high for himself over three years ago, and he’s only gotten better.

I’m not a hundred percent certain how many issues Locke & Key is currently set to run, but if the quality remains as high as the first issues have been hopefully we’ll see all 68 issues that Hill has mentioned as a possibility. The only downside is that it may mean I’ll never have the opportunity to collaborate with Gabriel on a book. So, with reprints of issues 1 & 2, along with issue 3 being released last week, now is a perfect time to jump on board and discover how great Locke & Key is to read.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Comix Pix – Locke & Key”

  1. Gabriel Says:

    Hi Dan

    Thanks for your kind words and hope you keep enjoying Locke & Key. Next week I’ll start working on the last of the first 6 issues miniseries, and I can tell you Joe has provided an amazing script for a great ending of this fantastic story!

    Thanks for your enthusiasm with my work, and certainly it could be great if we can find a way to collaborate in a project in the future!

    Best!

    G-

Leave a Reply

