My Birthday/Christmas Present To Myself

While in Las Vegas celebrating my fourth decade of life, my cell phone finally gave up the ghost and forced me to get a new cell phone upon my return. I had had my old cell phone for quite awhile — probably for over five years or so. It was dependable, though a bit banged up and it couldn’t hold a full battery charge for much longer than a day. It was time to say goodbye.

What did I get? No, iPhone for me. I got myself a slick and nifty LG enV — in orange no less. It actually didn’t cost me anything (other than shipping) since I’ve been sitting on some accumulated credit for being a long-time Verizon customer.

 

lgenvorange.jpg

The gadget details are:

Music

  • Music Player for MP3 and WMA Songs
  • V CAST Music and Video
  • Sync music from PC to phone
  • Create & Manage Playlists
  • Music Only Mode (RF off except Bluetooth)
  • microSD™ Memory Port
  • Dual Speakers for Stereo Sound

Bluetooth®

  • Bluetooth Version: 1.2
  • Profiles Supported: headset, hands–free, dial–up networking, A2DP (Stereo), object push for vCard, serial port, file transfer, audio/video remote control, basic printing, human interface device
  • Save up to 20 Bluetooth Pairings
  • Bluetooth Stereo Headset Support for Music

Camera/Video

  • 2.0 Megapixel Autofocus Camera w/ Flash & lens cover
  • Camera Resolution: 1600×1200, 1280×960, 640×480 (default), 320×240 Pixels
  • Video Recording Capability (digital zoom: up to 2.5x)
  • Set Videos (under 5MB) as Wallpaper
  • Video Resolution: 320×240, 176×144 (default) Pixels

Voice/Audio

  • One–Touch Speakerphone
  • Text to Speech
  • Speaker–Independent (VAD)
  • Voice Memo Recording
  • 13 Unique Ringtones + Vibrate & Silent Modes
  • Hearing Aid Compatibility = M3

Mobile Media

  • Text Messaging, Picture and Video Messaging, Mobile IM

Tools & Data

  • VZ Navigatorsm – voice–prompted Turn–by–Turn directions
  • Chaperonesm Parent/Child
  • Wireless Sync Email (BREW® Email Client)

General

  • BroadbandAccess Connect Capable
  • QWERTY Keyboard for Easy Messaging
  • 1.9 GHz CDMA PCS, 800 MHz CDMA
  • Data Transmission: High–Speed EV–DO
  • Dimensions: 4.64″ (H) x 2.08″ (W) x 0.78″ (D)
  • Weight: 4.6 oz.
  • Standard Lithium Polymer Battery (950mAh)
  • Usage Time: Up to 4 Hours & 30 Minutes OR
  • Standby Time: Up to 19 Days & 4 Hours

I doubt that’ll use my new cell phone to its fullest capabilities, but it’s by far the neatest little gadget that I’ve gotten for myself in quite some time. Now I’ve got to get myself a wireless Bluetooth headset before Governor Schwarzenegger’s new law that prohibits the use of handheld mobile phones while driving. That, and I can look important like a big-shot Hollywood mover and shaker (or, like Lobot from The Empire Strikes Back.)

And, since having a new cell phone replacing a dead cell phone means that I inevitably lost a handful or two of phone numbers for friends and family I have a favor to ask. If you’re reading this and think I would like or should have your phone number programmed in my cell phone please send it to me via email. I’d appreciate it.

(Remember back in the day when we kept all of our phone numbers written in little black books that weren’t threatened of being erased by finicky electronics?)

Tags:

2 Responses to “My Birthday/Christmas Present To Myself”

  1. Gel Pen : Says:

    bluetooth headsets are very nice and very comfortable because you don’t have those pesky wires~,;

  2. Pine Desk · Says:

    bluetooth headsets are great because they are wireless and your movement is not limited by wires **`

Leave a Reply

