Damn Kids And Their Loud Rock And Roll

I really don’t need anymore evidence to the fact that I’m getting older. I’ve got the receding hairline, my goatee is sprinkled with gray, and my doctor has informed me that regular prostate exams will begin with my next visit. But KROQ’s recent announcements regarding their line ups for both nights of their KROQ Almost Acoustic Christmas has hammered yet another nail into my coffin.

First off, a little history… Growing up in Southern California I grew up listening to KROQ (history). I remember when the morning show was Raymondo & the Blade before Kevin & Bean (where Adam Carolla and Jimmy Kimmel got their starts). I remember “The Roq of the 80s.” In fact, as I type this I”m listening to the online feed of KROQ Roq of the 80s (with Frankie Goes To Hollywood currently playing). In the past I have attended a number of KROQ Weenie Roasts as well as the KROQ Almost Acoustic Christmas. I still listen to the radio station — mostly in the morning — but not as often as I used to.

And since the Holiday Season is upon us, KROQ recently announced the line-up for this year’s Acoustic Christmas shows:

Night One (December 8, 2007)

  • Linkin Park
  • Angels & Airwaves
  • Avenged Sevenfold
  • Bad Religion
  • Paramore
  • Rise Against
  • Serj Tankian

Night Two (December 9, 2007)

  • Muse
  • Feist
  • Jimmy Eat World
  • Modest Mouse
  • Silversun Pickups
  • Spoon
  • The Shins

Now I still listen to enough KROQ to be familiar enough with just about all of the acts on the two-night bill, but not enough to really want to drive the hour plus to Universal City to see either night. I’ve seen Bad Religion, past on a local Modest Mouse show a few years ago, my girlfriend likes the Feist tune they use in the iPod commercial, and I like The Shins tune in Garden State (though it didn’t change my life).

Back in the day… I remember witnessing the fan mini-riot at the L.A. Collusium during the first U.S. Monsters of Rock (Kingdom Come, Dokken, Metallica, Scorpions, Van Halen), tearing my patella tendon while in the pit during Jane’s Addiction at the very first Lollapalooza in ’91 (Jane’s Addiction, Siouxsie & the Banshees, Living Colour, Nine Inch Nails, Ice T & Body Count, Butthole Surfers, Rollins Band, Violent Femmes), and seeing Pearl Jam open for Nirvana, who opened for Red Hot Chili Peppers in ’92.

There’s only one upcoming concert that I really want to catch… Next month Cheap Trick is playing at a local venue. I am getting old.

For the record, the acts that performed the first time I attended KROQ’s Almost Acoustic Christmas in 1992 — Adam Ant, David Byrne, Cause and Effect, The Cult, dada, Duran Duran, EMF, The Farm, Michael Penn, The Rembrandts, Seal, Soul Asylum, The Soup Dragons, Toad the Wet Sprocket, Suzanne Vega, The Violent Femmes. (I just realized that I’ve seen a lot of The Violent Femmes over the years when I also include various Weenie Roasts and playing with No Doubt.)

Tags:

One Response to “Damn Kids And Their Loud Rock And Roll”

  1. fason Says:

    dem whipper snappers and dere durn eclectronical music…

    i think i would have really enjoyed the ’92 show.

Leave a Reply

