Upcoming Creative Challenges

It seems like I make a post similar to this one around this time over the last few years. There are two creative challenges happening soon in which I want to participate in, but for whatever reason I usually don’t. Well, maybe this year it’ll be different.

24hcd2007logo.gif24 Hour Comics Day is (according to the 24 Hour Comics Day web site) an annual event where cartoonists around the world each try to create 24 pages of comics in 24 annuals. I don’t claim to be a “cartoonist” but I have been itching to do a little more on the art front than my occasional dabbling in doodles. Now, I’m not sure if I’ll participate by attending one of the “sponsored” 24 Hour Comics Day events. If I do it, I just might hole myself up at home for the 24 hours and see what I come up with — maybe post updates live while I do it in order to keep myself honest.

My co-conspirator, Chris Fason, will be participating in the event at Kingdom Comics in Birmingham, Al. He has participated the event before and his effort was included in the 24 Hour Comics Day Highlights 2005 (published by About Comics). He did a nifty western/horror tale that is definitely worth checking out.

nanowrimo.gifThe other challenge that I’d like to participate in is National Novel Writing Month, in which participants begin writing a novel on November 1st with a goal of reaching at least 50,000 words by midnight November 30th. This endeavor would require a much greater commitment than 24 hours — we’re talking 30 days, or 720 hours. Odds are I wouldn’t spend all 720 hours on trying to write a novel, but I’m sure it would eat up a big chunk of my month. Writing a novel has always been on my list of things that I’d like to accomplish, so this might be the kick in the ass that I could use to get it done. I’ve got a few concepts that I’ve been kicking around that might work for this exercise, but it won’t be easy if I decide to go for it. But, it would be a hell of a good sense of accomplishment if I pulled it off.

2 Responses to “Upcoming Creative Challenges”

  1. fason Says:

    i like how the link to my name goes to your own blog.

    :D

    nice…

  2. Dan Taylor Says:

    d’oh!

    fixed.

Leave a Reply

